Forest and Wildlife Law Enforcement in Central Africa

Expandmenu Shrunk


Gabon: Illegal logging and traffic of Kevazingos in Oyem

Following information received about illegal logging of Kevazingos in the village THO EFFACK (Oyem , Nye county), the Provincial Directorate of Water and Forests had commissioned a team on the ground accompanied by two members of the police to apprehend the loggers.
Abatage illégal et trafic de Kévazingo à Oyem
Illegal loggersAt the scene, they found a Kevazingo was being cut down, the cutters and their boss Mr. Minko had suddenly stopped and left. Later, Mr. Minko was arrested while holding a meeting with the head of reunification with the villagers and some of his employees. Offenders were brought to the Provincial Directorate of Water and Forests where they confessed having already cut down another Kevazingo at the request of Mr.

ABAGA MVE Leon, “owner” of the Kevazingo confessed that it was he who gave the order to cut down the tree at the request of Mr. Minko. He actually wanted to complete the cut already initiated by a Cameroonian named Enam Mbira then resell it to the SNBG with whom he has a “seller provider” contract.

Despite the facts and evidence of infringements, prosecutors in Oyem decided to relax them. According to them, the facts were not sufficient to restrain Mr Minko and his accomplices in the bonds of prevention, despite the testimony of the populations and the confessions of Mr Abaga Mvé Leon.

It goes without saying that the illegal exploitation of kevazingos is still in full swing in the country, and nobody seems to be able to stop this illegal logging, which is done  with various accomplices. In addition, the auction system and salvage of supposedly abandoned timber facilitates illegal logging. Indeed, illegal loggers cut the timber, and then pretext that this wood is to be auctioned. In addition, the timber was sold at very low prices , and payments to the Treasury were derisory. The state losses are enormous and it is unfair and demotivating competition for law -abiding operators .
A strict application of the law by the different administrations seems essential , even if things seem often stained irregularities as traffic of kevazingos continues and that offenders are released.

http://en.gabonews.com/environment/items/gabon-illegal-logging-and-trafic-of-kevazingos-in-oyem.html

Comments are closed.

Forest and Wildlife Law Enforcement in Central Africa

Expandmenu Shrunk


Abattage illégal et trafic de Kévazingo à Oyem

Suite à des informations reçues à propos d’un abattage de Kévazingo au village THO EFFACK (Oyem, canton Nyé), la Direction Provinciale des Eaux et Forêts avait diligenté une équipe sur le terrain accompagnée de deux éléments de la police judiciaire afin d’appréhender les auteurs.

Abatage illégal et trafic de Kévazingo à Oyem
Les accusés, Mr Minko (chemise bleue) et ses employés

Sur les lieux, ils constatèrent qu’un Kévazingo était en cours d’abatage, les coupeurs ainsi que leur patron Mr. Minko avaient subitement arrêté et quitter les lieux. Plus tard, Mr. Minko, prestataire de la société SNBG fut appréhendé entrain de tenir une réunion chez le chef de regroupement avec les villageois et une partie de ses employés. Les contrevenants furent conduits à la Direction Provinciale des Eaux et Forêts où  ils avouèrent avoir déjà abattu un autre Kévazingo à la demande de Mr. Minko, responsable de la société SGTB acheteur desdits bois.

Gabon : Abattage illégal et trafic de Kévazingo à Oyem
Le Kévazingo

ABAGA MVE Léon, « propriétaire » du Kévazingo, avoua que c’est lui qui avait donné l’ordre d’abattre le Kévazingo suite à la demande de Mr. Minko. Ce dernier voulait en effet achever l’abatage du Kévazingo déjà entamé par un sujet Camerounais nommé Enam MBIRA pour ensuite le revendre à la SNBG avec qui il a un contrat de « vendeur  prestataire ».

Malgré les faits et les preuves des infractions constatées, le parquet d’Oyem a décidé de relaxer les mis en cause. Selon lui, les faits ne seraient pas suffisants pour retenir Mr Minko et ses complices dans les liens de la prévention, malgré les témoignages de la population et les aveux de Mr Abaga Mvé Leon qui dit être propriétaire de ce bois et les Kévazingos coupés.

Il va sans dire que l’exploitation illégale des Kévazingos bat toujours son plein dans le pays, et que personne ne semble être en mesure d’arrêter ce trafic de bois, qui est réalisé aux yeux de tous et avec des complicités diverses. En outre, le système de vente aux enchères et de récupération du bois soi-disant abandonné n’apporte aucune garantie, et facilite l’exploitation forestière illégale. En effet, les exploitants illégaux coupent du bois sur pied, et prétextent ensuite qu’il s’agit de bois vendu aux enchères. En outre, ce bois a été vendu à très bas prix, et les versements au Trésor ont été dérisoires. Les pertes pour l’Etat sont énormes et cela constitue une concurrence déloyale et démotivante pour les opérateurs respectueux de la législation.

http://www.gabonews.com/Gabonews/actualites/environnement/abatage-illegal-et-trafic-de-kevazingo-a-oyem

Comments are closed.